top of page

Texas Independence Trail Region

Heritage Tourism Achievement Awards


The Trailblazer Award renamed

The Peggy Spradley Independence Trailblazer Award

Recognizes a person who has displayed outstanding professionalism, achievement and support of the Texas Independence Trail Region community.

  • 2019  Peggy Spradley

  • 2021  John Nau III, Texas Historic Commission, supporter of TITR

  • 2022  Robert Oliver, preservationist, Chisholm Trail Heritage Museum project


The Spirit of Texas Independence Award 

Recognizes partners with projects and programs within the Texas Independence Trail Region that have measurable impact on regional heritage tourism in a striking and powerful manner. 

  • 2019 (tie) Presidio La Bahia: WayBack Wednesdays program

  • 2019 (tie) Chisholm Trail Heritage Museum:  Hometown Teams: How Sports Shape America exhibit (Cuero, TX)

  • 2021  Independence! A Lone Star Rises: Washington-on-the-Brazos Historical Foundation

  • 2022  Fort Velasco Day/Exhibit (1830's Texas)

We thank everyone who nominated for these awards!

bottom of page